Posted by: benbacsierra | January 21, 2011

Barrio Bushido Publication Release

Hello Everyone,

Barrio Bushido will be officially released on Tuesday, February 1, 2011. It is time to mobilize, spread the word, and fully support not just a book but a movement. Here is our opportunity for empowerment and promotion of our unique intellectual and spiritual identity. In this novel, we have a homeboy and homegirl power, a human power! I volunteer to speak for all of us, whoever you may be, and boldly present the brutal truth about our humanity. This is not just my book; this is my life. Together let us share life and spread this life to the world so that others may learn and benefit from our ideas.

At this point these events listed below are planned for Barrio Bushido, and this is a great beginning. Still, there is much more to accomplish. We need your assistance to sing our beautiful song. If you have ideas or would like to volunteer your time and/or energy into making our voice heard, please e-mail me at benbacsierra@yahoo.com.

If you would like more information about me and my ideas, please search through all sections of this blog. Thank you.

Con Sinceridad y Humildad,

Ben Bac Sierra

 

BARRIO BUSHIDO PLANNED EVENTS:

 

  • Saturday, January 22, 2011: KPOO 89.5 FM Interview at 11:00 a.m.
  • Monday, January 24, 2011: KPFA 94.1 FM Interview (Cover to Cover) at 3:00op.m.
  • Thursday, February 17, 2011: SF Mission Cultural Center Reading and lowrider show at 7:00 p.m.  
  • Friday, February 25, 2011: Alameda Books, Inc. at 7:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 10, 2011: Berkeley’s Pegasus Books at 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 2011: Mission District Street Reading (pending)
  • March 2011: U.C. Office of the President, Puente Instructor and Counselor Conference, Classroom presentations for instructors teaching Barrio Bushido
  • March 29 to April 1: University of North Dakota Writers Conference
  • Spring and Fall 2011: Presentations at San Francisco State University and University of California, Berkeley (tentative)
  • Spring and Summer 2011: Various street presentations: San Francisco, Oakland, Stockton, San Jose, Sacramento, Modesto, etc.
  • Fall 2011: U.C. Hastings College of the Law reading
  • November 2011: Scripps College PAMLA Writers Conference
  • Northern California Puente Project presentations (tentative), February to May 2011:
    • City College of San Francisco
    • Skyline College, San Bruno
    • Chabot College, Hayward, CA
    • Contra Costa College, San Pablo
    • Diablo Valley College, Pleasant Hill
    • Laney College, Oakland
    • Los Medanos College, Pittsburg
    • Merritt College, Oakland
    • Napa Valley College, Napa
    • Ohlone College, Fremont
    • Santa Rosa Junior College
    • Santa Rosa JC-Petaluma
    • Solano College, Fairfield
    • San Joaquin Delta College, Stockton
    • San José City College
  • Audio book forthcoming

 

Responses

  1. Tuned in KFCF fm Fresno, Califas, which gives us (Gracias a todos los
    subscribers to KPFA-bERKELY) ON mONDAY Jan. 24th afternoon.
    Ben, that interview did so much for me. It introduced me to YOU, and to
    your wonderful, powerful writing. There is so much more I can add to all
    this, I am Chicano OG from the valle here in Centro California.
    Madera to be exact. 2nd generation, born and raised here. spent 1990-
    2005 in San Pancho. In fact, I lived next door to Hastings College of Law.
    on McAllister ST. APT. # 12. I love, truly am into Modern Jazz, and Musica
    Salsa, as well as down home boogie.
    Ben, I ordered your book from Amazon “Barrio Bashido”
    Lastly, YOU SO MUCH INSPIRE ME. Right now, that I so much need inspiration!
    GRACIAS !!! cAN’T wait to read your book. Man, I really would love to
    attend your happening @Mission Cultural. I spent many hours in the Mission,
    some good and some bad times tu sabes! Again,,, Arriba con todo Benjamin

  2. Hi Benjamin, I just watched a talk you gave at Berkeley library. I ran across it once a long time back and recorded it on my dvr. I was in a rush at the time and couldn’t watch it. I was astounded by you. I am going to order it right now. Thanks for your art. I can’t wait to read it. I live in Sacramento. Do you ever come give lectures here? If you do I know,some people who would like,to see you speak.


Leave a Reply

Categories

